CCW

PERMIT COURSE

Practical Training Solutions is currently certified to provide CCW Permit Training and Certificates to residents of Tulare, Fresno, Kings and Kern counties.

The information on this page is a general outline to help guide you through the CCW permit process. Each county may have their own guidelines. Please check with your county to verify if the steps on this page are accurate for their particular process.

STEP #1:  CCW PERMIT COURSE

$100 | 4 – 8 Hours

The first step to obtaining your California Concealed Weapons Permit is to enroll in a CCW Certification Training Course. The Practical Training Solutions CCW Permit Course is designed to not only teach you basic handgun safety, but also tactical fundamentals, law, judgement and decision making, and the California Laws that you will need to become familiar with in order to lawfully carry your concealed weapon.

New CCW Applicants will complete an 8 hour training course. Renewing CCW Applicants will complete a 4 hours training course. All CCW Training Courses require a live fire training qualification.

STEP #2:  CCW PERMIT APPLICATION

In order to obtain your CCW Permit after your Training Certification Course, you will need to apply for a CCW Pemit in your county. Please visit the links below to apply for your permit once you have completed your training course.

Please be sure that you have all required materials uploaded to your computer before you begin your online application. You will need to upload several documents including a copy of the front and back page of your Training Course Certificate, your California Drivers License, Proof of Residency and other required documents.

STEP #3:  LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINTING

After you successfully complete your CCW Permit Application with your county Sheriff’s office, it is time to get fingerprinted. Once you fill out your application, you will receive a receipt along with an ORI # and Livescan Request Form. You can call your county Sheriff’s office to set up an appointment to complete your Livescan Process. Bring your completed application receipt along with your Drivers License and the Live Scan Request Form to your appointment.

STEP #4:  BACKGROUND CHECK & CHARACTER REFERENCE FORMS

After you complete your Livescan Fingerprinting process, you will wait approximately 3-4 months for the Department of Justice to perform a background check for your Permit.

During this time, it is important that you contact the persons that you listed as your “Character References” that you included on your Permit Application. They should receive their form from your local Sheriff’s office within 2-3 weeks of completing your application. They will need to fill out the Character Reference form, and mail in back to your local Sheriff’s office in a timely manner so that your application is not delayed.

STEP #5:  YOUR APPROVED PERMIT

Once the application process has been completed, you will be notified by your local Sheriff’s department when they have successfully processed your application and you will be given futher instructions on how to obtain your physical permit card.

STEP #6:  RENEWAL

Now that you are a legal CCW Permit holder, please remember to keep up with your training and fundamentals. You will need to renew your Permit every 2 years. Please contact us if you need to renew your certification.